The St Andrews Voluntary Service (SVS) tasks itself with assigning volunteers, mainly from the student body of the University of St Andrews, to local projects in and around St Andrews.


SVS began as a branch of the Christian Union that distributed volunteers to the local community to assist with tasks like gardening and shopping. In 1987, SVS separated from the Christian Union to become a recognised charity in Scotland and started to expand into other project areas. More recently, in 2006, SVS became a subcommittee of the St Andrews Students' Assocation.

The Committee

SVS couldn't function without the work of the committee which is elected at the Annual General Meeting (AGM) every April. The roles involve a range of workloads and responsibilities. The current committee (2017-2018) is as follows:

Natasha Bateman
Convenor / SSC Volunteering Officer
Brianna Chu
Jiaxuan (Kerry) Yang
Tom Williams
Events and Publicity Officer
Sarah Rodway-Swanson
Development Officer
Flora Rowe
Fundraising Officer
Sophie Johnston
Project Officer: Animals
Brynn Frew
Project Officer: Youth
Adam Lord
Project Officer: Befriending
Nick Leverton
Project Officer: Adults with Additional Needs
Rosie Catcheside
Project Officer: Elderly
Kieran Wallbanks
Project Officer: Youth with Additional Needs
Sophie Vonholm
Project Officer: Environmental
Abi Storey
Project Officer: Community


In its history SVS has won several awards, including:

  • Fife Organisation Open Category Award (2010)
  • Volunteer Centre Fife Certificate of Nomination (2009)
  • Scottish Power Community Partnership of the Year (1998)
  • Daily Record Youth in Action Award (1970)